5 mins with Miranda Dawe

We carry on our series of '5 mins with' interviews, with lovely improv folks.

Here's the inimitable and much loved lorry, Miranda Dawe…

My name is Miranda Dawe and my improv life in a nutshell is pretty short. I played impro games at drama school and I took a few classes at Amy Cook-Hodgson's impro clinic before auditioning for Red Lorry Yellow Lorry so I have been learning on the job which has been great fun.

My other hats are many – I do have a good head for hats – as I am an actress, singer, stand-up comedienne and writer. I have recently been in a run of NewsRevue and an advert for Maplin.

My Improv philosophy is to say 'Yes And' and tell the voice in your head that says “you are making rubbish choices” to go away.

I think my best improv moment is yet to come! I'm still learning!

Lots of things make me happy – basset hounds, the movie Summer Holiday, chocolate cheesecake! But within life with the Lorries it has to be the fun of performing with awesome people and the pleasure of finding a good rhyme!

My favourite tongue twister is:

Mrs Puggy Wuggy has a Square Cut Punt, Not a Punt Cut Square but a Square Cut Punt – it's round at the back and it's blunt in the front, Mrs Puggy Wuggy has a square cut punt.

Filth.

 

Leave a comment